Home Divisions Medical Cannabis Medical Cannabis Medical Cannabis Patients & Caregivers

Patients & Caregivers

You will find the correct form and instructions for first time patients, re-enrolling patients, primary caregivers, personal production, information change, and card replacement on this page.  Directions for completing the paperwork is provided on each form.  Complete applications are processed in the order received at the MCP office.  Incoming mail, general delivery or certified, is routed through the DOH mail room. Please allow 5 working days from the date mailed before checking on your application.

The Medical Cannabis Program may take up to 30 days from the date a complete  application is received at the MCP office to approve or deny the application.  An additional 5 business days are allowed to process and issue the registry identification cards.  We recommend that  applications be submitted 45 to 60 days before expiration to avoid problems obtaining or possessing medical cannabis.

NOTE: All of our application forms have been revised March 2018.

New & Returning Patients


The application for first time and returning patients is the same. Please complete the Medical Cannabis Patient Application and submit it with a copy of your current New Mexico driver's license or state identification card. Temporary ID’s are not accepted. You must provide documentation to support diagnosis of the medical condition, past treatments, potential health benefit vs. risk of Medical Cannabis and the date(s) of service.

NOTE: The patient is responsible for ensuring that the application is complete, including medical documentation and records as needed. Incomplete applications will be pulled from processing and a letter requesting missing/additional documentation will be mailed to the patient.



To enroll as a personal caregiver for an existing patient(s), you must complete the Medical Cannabis Caregiver Application and submit it with a copy of your New Mexico driver's license or state identification card and background check. Please review the Registry Identification Cards rules for Personal Caregiver before applying.

Personal Production License


Qualified Patients with current valid enrollment who want to produce medical cannabis for themselves may complete the Medical Cannabis Personal Production Application and submit it with a copy of your New Mexico driver's license or state identification card and the $30.00 license fee. Please review the Licensing Requirements section of the NMAC for Qualified Personal Production License before applying.

Information Change or Card Replacement


If your personal information has changed, you have moved, new phone number, stopped using Medical Cannabis, you have lost or damaged your card, etc. you must complete the Medical Cannabis Patient Info Change or Card Replacement form and submit it with your current Patient ID Card and/or Personal Production License Card and a copy of your New Mexico driver's license or state identification card.

NOTE: If the Patient ID Card or Personal Production License is lost or expired your protections under The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act and the Statutory Authority and Rules of New Mexico are compromised. This may leave you open to Law Enforcement action and possible prosecution.

Patient Statistics

Please see the reports below for details on number of active patients in the program, active personal production licenses, number of active patients grouped by qualifying condition, and more.

12/20/2016: We recognize the importance of providing patient statistics for the Medical Cannabis Program. We are working to provide more accurate data. As a result, a patient statistics report for the month of November 2016 will not be produced.